“Happy Hunger Games… My Ass” I cried like a Baby

3 Apr

        

So I caved and watched The Hunger Games (HG) last night. I say caved because I tend to fall into the category of those people who, when a film adaptation of a novel comes out, feels that I have to read the story first so that I understand any and everything going on AND can annoyingly explain it to the person sitting next to me. (99% of the time it’s My Sister).

However, the previews and hype surrounding the movie drew me in and let me tell you- I stand by my original rule and am going back to reading the stories beforehand.

{Before you read on let me explain that I have no intention of comparing The Hunger Games and Twilight. Ever. For starters. 1.) I don’t consider myself a movie critic in any way and really just wanted to share what I thought of this film and 2.) Let this serve as a reminder that I haven’t read any of the books so it wouldn’t be fair because I am an embarrassingly avid Twilight fan. (see: Have the books, have the movies and even reads AND writes Twilight FanFiction)}

Moving on.

First let me say that, to me, the movie as a movie itself was beyond amazing.

The cinematography and special effects had me at the edge of my seat and several times I leaned over (to my sister) and would whisper “Wow” or “That was crazy” when something interesting happened.

I also think that actress Jennifer Lawrence, who portrays the heroine of the novel/film Katniss Everdeen, has talent that cannot be doubted or badly reviewed, as well as the many other actors in the cast. Job well done!

Unfortunately, having not read the book, there were times that I felt the movie lagged, some things that seemed minor, but I know better, were left unexplained (the symbolism of the mockingjay pin, Katniss and Rue’s 4 note melody, and the three finger salute to name a few) and events that occurred that I was left totally unprepared for. – Like when Rue, the young girl tribute from District 11, was slaughtered in cold bold. Even knowing it was inevitable I still cried and shouted at the screen how I felt. I think my exact words were “THIS IS BULL SH*T”.

In case you don’t know the premise of the story- Basically because of one Districts (or countries) failed attempt to rebel against the corrupt Capitol (government), every other district (There are 12 left in total) must now offer up two children (one male and one female) yearly as tribute to battle to the death- DEATH ie: they savagely bludgeon each other- on live television where the world watches. Children killing. Each other. 24 kids. Only one survives. Kids. Killing each other. For sport. While adults watch and sometimes actually sabotage the game.

Maybe I’m just too naïve and sensitive for angst but I really hated the idea, concept and portrayal of people offering up children as sacrifice. Since this is basically the entire premise of the novel/ film I guess sadly I must report that I am not a fan and probably won’t be rushing out to by the trilogy of books anytime soon.

Kids’ killing each other, regardless of the reason and symbolism is just something I can’t get with. Ever.

But like I said the movie in itself separately from what it represented (to me) was probably the best movie I’ve seen so far this year. Just watch at your own risk.

“Happy Hunger Games!”

Also I would  like to just give a big F-You to those people who actually had the gall to tweet hateful comments that Rue was depicted as a young black girl (the way she was actually described in the books from what I understand).

3 Responses to ““Happy Hunger Games… My Ass” I cried like a Baby”

  1. Fathead Follies April 12, 2012 at 10:58 AM #

    Dang it, I’m being coerced into reading the books by the constant heckling of my friends and now I know that it will wreck me. I guess I should set up my counseling appointments now. And to the haters who don’t like the fact that Rue was played by a black actress, SUCK IT!

    • lolosofocused April 12, 2012 at 12:13 PM #

      Seriously… I was ready to lie down on someones couch and go in depth on how I was affected by Rue’s death and the injustice of it all!… and according to what I read (on wikipedia) there’s a lot more sad times ahead! My poor heart can’t take it! If you DO succumb to the peer pressure and read the trilogy… I’d love to hear your thoughts so I know what I’m in for 😉

Agree?Disagree? - Leave a comment/reply and let me know!- Thanks for Reading

