Are you a book snob?

19 Apr

It is often (see: always said) that to be a good writer you have to LOVE to read… and yes I feel, though they  go hand in hand,  not every writer reads for fun (versus gaining information) and not every reader has a die-hard passion for writing.

Inspired by a post from fellow blogger ‘Womens Fiction Writers’ where she asked “When did you fall in love with books? as well as ‘Katie is a teacher’ who is participating and from what I gather leading the 100 book challenge. I realized that, though I do love to read there are many, many, many books I haven’t even heard of, as well as classics that I, umm haven’t gotten around to. (sheepishly looks around to see if you bought that.)

OK confession time…

I am not a fan of many of the classics. Flashback to school- book reports. When it was time to study certain works of ‘classic literature’ I hated life and would more often than not rent the movie and watch it as reference or buy ‘Cliff Notes’ at the local bookstore. (We didn’t have Wikipedia and the likes when I was coming up folks.)

My non- enthusiasm of the classics, however, sometimes makes me feel as if others may look down at me cause I can’t wax poetic about Shakespeare and Jane Austin and blah blah blah.

My library is confusing and random to most people. I have Ernest Hemingway sitting next to Stephenie Meyer, Eric Jerome Dickey sitting next to Jen Lancaster, Judy Blume piled on top of David Sedaris. And somewhere in my parents garage is my old school collection of ‘Babysitters Club’ and ‘Goosebumps’ to name a few.

I love books and I love reading. Period. I shouldn’t feel bad or be made to feel bad because I hate and I will say it out loud HATE- ROMEO AND JULIET! (That’s just an example but you get the idea.)

So…

What’s your favorite book? (If you can pick one)…
What books do you love/hate?
What are some of your guilty pleasure books?
What are some books that, try as you might, can’t see the appeal of?
What are some books that your ashamed or not ashamed to admit you haven’t read?

Time to fess up!  and hey if your own book is one of your favorites? Mention it! Why not! 😉

This is a no judge zone folks! If you like the classics good for you (you’re meant to and are probably the norm)! But if you don’t- don’t feel bad you’re not alone!

 

14 Responses to “Are you a book snob?”

  1. The Young Novelist April 28, 2012 at 1:15 PM #

    My favorite three books (I don’t have just one) are The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, and Divergent by Veronica Roth. I love The Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket, The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart, Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling, and of course, my three favorites. I’m sorry to say this if you are a Twilight fan, but I don’t like it. I’m not into stuff like the Pretty Little Liars books or anything girly. Though I’m a girl, I love action. The book that I’m not ashamed of reading is the dictionary, because trust me, it does come in handy when you’re writing:)

  2. Mandy April 21, 2012 at 10:30 PM #

    I read just about every R.L. Stine book as a child! Some of my all time faves include Little Women, the HP and Hunger Games series, and Outlander. I can’t get in to some of the classics like Emma or Pride and Prejudice. I have to admit, most of the books I think are really good these days come from the Young Adult section of the library. And I am SO not a young adult. Is that wrong??

  3. thislittlelite April 21, 2012 at 11:38 AM #

    I love books! I enjoy mysteries, biographies, crime novels, horror (love Stephen King), history books, catholic books, etc. I can read anything if it holds my interest 🙂 I did read all 7 of the Harry Potter books. Started reading the first one to my girls and made it a tradition as each book came out. I also enjoy Jane Austen, Shakespeare, and even the books they made us read in high school English class! I still remember the first book I read, it was titled “Lucille” it was about a horse 🙂 I have a sister that doesn’t like to read and she says, “I’ll just see the movie” but I know the book is always better than the movie!

    • lolosofocused April 22, 2012 at 11:48 AM #

      Lucille? Is it a children’s book? I don’t think I’ve ever heard of it… the first book I read about horses was naturally ‘Black Beauty’ typical huh?

      • thislittlelite April 22, 2012 at 12:07 PM #

        It was one of those “I Can Read” books. For some reason it stuck in my memory.

  4. wjcollier3 April 20, 2012 at 11:24 AM #

    I read and review about 50 books a year on my blog. As a Protestant Christian minister, most of them are theologically driven (or are at least Christian books). I hope this does not make me a book snob, but I cannot stand most Christian fiction! I don’t particularly like fiction in general, with the major exception going to John Grisham, but Christian fiction is most often particularly bad. Being from Texas, I also enjoy books of local historical interest. I do not understand the attraction to sci-fi/fantasy/paranormal such as Twilight or Harry Potter, and even more modern classics like The Lord of the Rings trilogy or The Chronicles of Narnia (though not liking those last two series get cross looks especially in Christian circles). I do not enjoy the classics. I did enjoy Freakonomics by Levitt and Dubner and The Blind Side by Michael Lewis.

    • lolosofocused April 22, 2012 at 11:33 AM #

      I haven’t read much Christian fiction to be honest, so I can’t agree or disagree on them being good or bad. The only book I remember getting really into was about (and bare with my summary here) a girl that had a child at a young age, who went to the hospital and for some reason or another she thought the child died and ran away only to be reunited with her some 20 odd years later. It sounds pretty general and generic but it was nice as it wasn’t too preachy if you know what I mean. Here’s to hoping you find one that you can add to you faves library soon! and if you have any you’d ever like to recommend please drop me a line. I’m up to reading anything (well except the classics apparently.) 😉

  5. Nicola Kirk April 20, 2012 at 4:19 AM #

    I read books that have imaginative contexts. I initially enjoyed the first two Twilight books as the concept seemed fresh, until bella’s endless teenage angst driven exposition started doing my head in. Also it’s difficult to suspend disbelief when the girl is 16 and the vampire is in his late 70s and still going to school. Then I found Charlaine Harris’ True Blood books and from the first chapter of Dead until Dark to the last page of Dead Reckoning, I’ve loved reading them. An adult woman, exciting events, all sorts of supernatural creatures, sexy vampires that sleep on the earth, it has it all. I also live a good rom-com, Sophie Kinsella writes consistently great stories with an unputdownable quality. Neil Gaiman’s graphic novel masterpiece, Sandman. Actually I quite like Shakespeare, not so much for his style of olde englishe stageplay, but the man made some keen observations and statements about people, that are equally relevant today as they were in his time. But I’d probably find the cliff notes interesting because they’d explain what I was missing by just reading the text. Oh and Harry Potter books … You haven’t read them yet? You’re very lucky, because when you do, if you’re anything like lots of people, you won’t stop till the end and at least you won’t have to wait years between books!

    • lolosofocused April 22, 2012 at 11:29 AM #

      That’s funny I read all the Sookie Stackhouse novels to! Well, read some and listened to some on audio book but you get it! I haven’t ever read Sandman as I’m not too much into graphic novels but I did read Stardust. (I normally always read a book before I see a movie). Everyone tells me the same thing about HP, that I wont be able to stop, maybe that’s why I haven’t read them yet, as to not start a new obsession. Lol-

  6. Nicole April 19, 2012 at 11:17 PM #

    I don’t know that I’m a book snob as much as I just don’t seek out some of the newer authors. I remember my favorite authors in high school were Cynthia Voigt and Amy Tan. Then I went to college and recreational reading was a luxury that I couldn’t afford, time-wise that is.

    In the past few years, I’ve spent more time reading classics that I never got to read before. This includes Kerouac books I didn’t get to as a teen, Steinbeck, Faulkner, O Henry, Joyce Carol Oates, Tolstoy, Pynchon, Daniel Keyes and yes – Jane Austen. I have to say I’ve thoroughly enjoyed exploring the works of these authors.

    I’m not very knowledgeable when it comes to what’s popular now. The only modern author I can think of that I am a fan of is Koji Suzuki. Otherwise, I can’t get excited over authors like Nicholas Sparks, J.K Rowling and Stephanie Meyer – those stories just don’t seem interesting to me, but that’s just my taste. I know plenty of people who are fans of these authors and I think its great that they find pleasure in reading these books.

    I did have a friend lend me a Jennifer Weiner book ( I think it was Little Earthquakes or something). I liked the book but still haven’t read any more of her books. I tried joining a book club for a bit to get more acquainted with newer authors, but that fizzled out after awhile.

    I’m with you though – I’m not a Shakespeare fan and I was forced to read “Old Man and the Sea” in school which I thought was god-awful so I’ve yet to touch another Hemingway book.

    • lolosofocused April 22, 2012 at 11:20 AM #

      I don’t think not wanting to seek certain authors out makes you a book snob! Sometimes it’s just not someones taste. I actually don’t know much about Koji Suzuki but I’ll check him out. Do you have a favorite book of his you’d like to recommend? and yeah I don’t remember much about Old man and the sea other then memories of being forced to read it in school… I’m more of ‘The Sun Also Rises’ but even that, to be honest took me a while to appreciate.

      • Nicole April 23, 2012 at 2:51 AM #

        Many people keep telling me to give Hemingway another try. Maybe I’ll check out “The Sun Also Rises”. Have also been told to check into “Farewell to Arms”.

        As for Koji Suzuki – I’ve read his trilogy of books, Ring, Spiral and Loop and Dark Waters. I thought I had read something else from him, but I guess not. Ring is the novel that the American film “The Ring” was loosely based on… and I mean loosely. I’m not really into sci-fi/fantasy books at all but I enjoyed his books. To me it’s more of like modern day Twilight Zone fare. I think Dark Waters is probably the book you’d want to try out… it’s a collection of short stories. It’s not indicative of the type I stuff I usually read,but he was the only recent fiction writer I could think of that I’d read in the past few years.

        Otherwise, I’ve mostly read nonfiction/biographical novels. Like “The Glass Castle” by gossip columnist Jeanette Walls and “Sweet and Low: A Family Story” about the invention of artificial sweeteners.
        Seriously – it was actually a fascinating read even when it got into the science of making Sweet n Low and the marketing behind it.

        Make no mistake though – most of the fiction novels I’ve read in the past five years were from the Steinbeck/Kerouac/Oates etc… group of writers I mentioned first. Just something about the way stories were crafted – there seemed to be more extraneous detail of background/scenery/mood etc… where those items almost felt like characters themselves – especially in the writing of Steinbeck and Kerouac. I could be way off, but it doesn’t seem like that kind of detail makes it into present day books. Maybe it doesn’t interest audiences today or publishers squelch it?

  7. visitingmissouri April 19, 2012 at 11:05 AM #

    I am a book snob, although I don’t read enough to behave like one. I want to read all Dutch classics before I start reading other stuff (it helps that I am Dutch and we don’t have Shakespear-like old authors as classics). Also, I don’t like to read popular series, such as Harry Potter. I guess mainly the last part makes me a book snob.

    • lolosofocused April 19, 2012 at 11:12 AM #

      BOOK SNOB!!!- Totally Joking :-p See I don’t think that’s being snobby for not wanting to read certain contemporary books. (I actually haven’t gotten around to reading any HP myself)… and wanting to read Dutch classics seems pretty awesome of a goal to me again not snobby… Now if you were looking down at people who do love HP and the likes… well then I would be shaking my fist at you! Lol

Agree?Disagree? - Leave a comment/reply and let me know!- Thanks for Reading

