Bitch stole my… IDEA

29 Apr

OK that’s not true. No one STOLE my idea… In fact now that I think about it, maybe it’s me who’s the thief. Not making any sense here am I? OK let me explain, or at least try to.

As writers, we are our ideas (that’s not 100% true but go with me here) and without them, well then we don’t have anything to write about? Right?

What happens then, what do you do when an idea, a BRILLIANT idea, comes to you, you spend [insert time frame here] plotting out your characters, your world, the beginning the end, whatever. You’re plotting and outlining and researching and before you know it words start to flow, characters come to life and one day during your research BAM you realize that this damn idea, this once Brilliant idea isn’t so brilliant after all as its been done- dozens if not HUNDREDS of times. Sigh. Hangs head. Silently sobs.

Yeah that’s where I’m at right now.

I know they say great minds think alike, but has this ever happened to anyone else? Thinking that you came up with something, though not completely innovative per se, but at the very least creative as hell and think THIS IS IT! This is a great idea! This will be wonderful only to realize that your ‘great mind’ is actually in fact a semi-slow and behind-the-times mind?

If so- well I feel your pain! It may be back to the drawing board for me with this idea, or the stubbornness might win out and I’ll continue it knowing that it’s been overdone and played out. Sigh. Decisions. Decisions.

(*This has been a certifiable rant*)

5 Responses to “Bitch stole my… IDEA”

  1. Nicole April 30, 2012 at 12:52 AM #

    LOL – I just blurted this out last week when a co-worker basically woke up one day and decided to write a novel. And she’s already done typing it up. But of course she’s sitting at work doing this instead of, well, the actual work that needs to get done. Meanwhile I’m the chump doing my writing during lunch breaks and late at night. I guess that’s my certifiable rant for the week.

    I took a workshop on character development and dialogue a little over a year ago. One thing the instructor said that has stuck with me is that basically every story and plot line you can think of has been done by someone else in some other time. But its your job to make the story sound fresh and different. You are basically casting a new set of characters, dialogue and location to make an already done scenario interesting to a new audience.

    I say, just continue with your idea. Get it down on paper. Then re-read it. Maybe you’ll figure out how to make your story stand out. Maybe you don’t have to start from scratch – perhaps you’ll think of a twist to make your idea go down a different route than the similar stories/ideas that are already out there.

  2. eyedoc90 April 29, 2012 at 8:27 PM #

    Yup. Just happened today with my Star Wars post. Just before I uploaded I Googled the idea just to see if anyone else had . . . crap, they already had. Oh well. Made for an entertaining intro. Got lemons? Make lemonade.

  3. onlyfragments April 29, 2012 at 8:12 PM #

    Well… there’s two ways to look at this. One way is that you want to be original as possible, because who wants to see the same old story rehashed a million times? But on the other hand, every story is different. Every story wants to be told, no matter if one very much like it has been told before. So I wouldn’t worry too much. See where your idea has been done in the past, then give yours a twist that makes it a little different, original in its own way. If the same story could never be told, then we’d have run out of stories looooong ago. As long as you’re not like Stephanie Meyer and trying to pass off the old “girl falls in love with a vampire” story as something you came up with entirely on your own, I think you’ll be okay. 🙂

    • pehayes4244 April 30, 2012 at 9:26 PM #

      Just stopping by to say that I’ve nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award! Check out my blog for more info, and congratulations!
      http://onlinedatingjournal.wordpress.com/2012/04/30/after-today-i-deserve-this-fucking-nomination/
      I didn’t include this is my blog but here are the rules for the award:
      1. Add the award to your blog.
      2. Thank the blogger who gave it to you and include a link to their blog.
      3. Mention 7 random things about yourself.
      4. List the rules.
      5. Give the award to 15 or more bloggers

    • lolosofocused May 1, 2012 at 3:07 PM #

      True… I guess there ARE plenty of things that have been redone and revamped (see what I did there? Lol) more then once! Thanks!

Agree?Disagree? - Leave a comment/reply and let me know!- Thanks for Reading

