My Review for ‘Puncture’ by Lisa V. Proulx

29 Apr

Puncture by Lisa V. Proulx

I already know what you’re thinking because, in the spirit of full disclosure, I must admit that a part of me, the fantasy genre lover that’s felt slightly inundated with this particular subject as of late, thought the same thing. “Ugh, not another Vampire novel.” Am I right? Well let me tell you, I was so wrong and if you read PUNCTURE you won’t be disappointed and will soon realize that this is indeed not just another Vampire novel.

I can’t speak on the thoughts of men, but as a woman, I can say that the catch line “Every woman knows a man like Victor” captures the pain and struggles and high and lows of not just a supernatural relationship but a relationship in general.

Though I will admit, at the beginning, and at times throughout the story I did have a hard time completely relating to Veronica, the heroine, and also wanting to throttle her for some of her decisions as well as thought process in certain situations. This is in no way a bad thing, however, and should show just how easily vested you become in her character and well being immediately. Not caring whether or not the heroine dies is a bad sign don’t you think? :-p

The way Lisa V. Proulx was able to insert me into Veronica’s mind shows her talent as a writer in demonstrating that age old rule of ‘Show not Tell’.

You see through her eyes the battles that we all, as woman, have faced, have watched someone face or sorry to inform you but WILL face at one point in our life. That proverbial should I or shouldn’t I trust this man or person that for some reason I love with every fiber of my being even though they clearly don’t deserve it.

The moment or moments when you realize that everything you thought you knew was a lie, that you should have headed the warnings of your intuition that so many take for granted; and this person, this man you love is not only a stranger but in Veronica’s situation pure evil.

And that is just what Victor Leatherman is in this story; the wolf in sheep’s’ clothing that plays on the love and desire that Veronica feels for him. And though we know this, and though we feel this, and though we all want Veronica to ‘leave his sorry ass’, the truth that comes out is still shocking.

You should know, and maybe I should have mentioned this before, that to me this is not a love story. No it far surpasses just the love of an undead monster and a semi-naïve mortal. This story is about choices and not just good vs. evil but life or death.

With the introduction of Aidan, I won’t get much into him as to not give away the plot and spoilers, adds on a whole other level of twist and turns as well as the truth about Victors past, that I didn’t expect and often found myself screaming at the screen to “SHUT UP!”  (true story I did that). And the end? Well just read that and find out yourself, then come back and tell me if it moved you while simultaneously ripping your heart out like it did mine.

Heading the warning of author Lisa V. Proulx I wouldn’t recommend this book to anyone 17 and under as there are some sex, drug and references to violence but I DO recommend PUNCTURE for anyone looking for a suspenseful and interesting quick read.

Sometimes you might want to scream and shout, I’ll admit, and sometimes you might even teeter back and forth on your feelings of Veronica. But despite that, just like me, at one point you’ll find yourself leaning into the words, absorbing them and again realizing that whether we want to admit it or not “Every woman knows a man like Victor.”

Lisa V. Proulx

More about the Author: Lisa is a self- proclaimed laid back 70’s chick who loves to write horror and grew up watching scary movies. As a kid her favorite show was Dark Shadows. (Taken from Smashwords profile).

If you want to find out more about Lisa, her works, get your own copy of ‘Puncture’ or would just like to contact her; here are some links below.

Amazon.com http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=ntt_athr_dp_sr_1?_encoding=UTF8&search-alias=books&field-author=Lisa%20V.%20Proulx

Barnes&Noble http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s?store=NOOKSTORE&keyword=lisa+v.+proulx

Blog : http://lisavproulx.wordpress.com/

FaceBook Author Fan Page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Lisa-V-Proulx-Author-Fan-Page/223212131077410

One Response to “My Review for ‘Puncture’ by Lisa V. Proulx”

  1. Official Blog of Author Lisa V. Proulx February 25, 2013 at 5:23 PM #

    Thank you so much!!! 🙂

Agree?Disagree? - Leave a comment/reply and let me know!- Thanks for Reading

