The Root of all Evil

4 Jan

Show me the money!!

 

This may very well make me seem  like an unfeeling/insensitive and selfish asshole–but truth me told, I’m totally fine with that.

What is it you ask?

I NEVER LEND FRIENDS MONEY!

Okay, that’s not say I never have before (in the past … when I was young and dumb) but as a general rule I don’t lend. If a friend or family member is in a bind–yes I might give but loan??

^^^^^ What they said!!!^^^^

It’s just, to me, never a good idea.

I’ve seen (on TV and in real life situations) life-long ‘friendships’ get ripped to shreds all over a few hundred dollars … sometimes less.

Is that to say those few hundred dollars isn’t a lot? Hell no! And that’s the point:

“It’s never smart to lend money in which you can’t afford to simple give away”

While, I’m sure I’ve paraphrased the quote in some way and I’m not sure who said that, but BY GOD that’s some of the best advice ever.

Personally, I can’t afford to just hand  over several bills to someone (Sallie Mae has me by the balls enough)… which, again, is why I won’t. If I’m going to miss it–than it stays with me. There are SO MANY ways to help out a friend that don’t involve handing them over your cold hard cash. ‘Cause as luck would have it 9/10 times, the minute you hand it over, something will come up the next day to make you regret it!

If the friend is a good friend {I sure hope they are if you were contemplating giving them money} they should and will appreciate your time. Your love. Your comfort.

Offer to babysit the kids to give them some free time, offer them a ride if their car is 2.5 seconds away from draining their bank account. Cook them some nice dinner if they are down, out, and without. Hell, even offer to buy the groceries for them. Help clean, paint, redecorate their house. Lend them something to wear. Really–the list goes on, but value what you have and who you can be for them. It shouldn’t just be about what you can GIVE them and vice  versa.

Because in the struggles I’ve faced in life … I remember the friends who gave me their TIME  and a meal, long before the ones who threw five bucks my way to get something to eat and sent me on my way.

Food for thought …

Agree?Disagree? - Leave a comment/reply and let me know!- Thanks for Reading

